Categories: (Buddhism)
Tibetan: མདོའི་སྡེ (do de)   Chinese: 經藏, 契經, 修多羅
Sutra means thread in Sanskrit. In Buddhism, the Sutra Pitaka (Sutta Pitaja), one of the Tripitaka, contains over 10,000 canonical teachings of Lord Buddha separated into 5 collections (nikayas):
  • Digha Nikaya: long discourses
  • Majjhima Nikaya: medium length discourses
  • Samyutta Nikaya: connected discourses
  • Anguttara Nikaya: numerical discourses
  • Khuddaka Nikaya: minor collection

There are three types of Sutras:

  • as spoken directly by Lord Buddha
  • spoken by Bodhisattvas with inspiration and blessing of the Buddha
  • as compiled by disciples of Lord Buddha from his teachings

This Tibetan Buddhism popup glossary system is in early beta testing stage. Please submit any suggestions and corrections in the comment section below so we can continue to improve it to help everyone.

Synonyms/Additional Terms:
མདོའི་སྡེ, 經藏, 契經, 修多羅, Sutta Pitaja

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *