Drepung Monastery

Tibetan: འབྲས་སྤུངས          Chinese: 哲蚌寺

Drepung was the biggest of the three great Gelug university monasteries in Tibet with as many as 10,000 monks at one time. It is is located on the Gambo Utse mountain, five kilometers west of Lhasa.

Jamyang Choje (1379-1449), a disciple of Tsongkhapa, founded Drepung Monastery in 1416.

Drepung is divided into seven great colleges including Gomang, Loseling, Deyang, Shagkor, Gyelwa, Dulwa and Ngagpa.

In India, Drepung is located in Mundgod with over 5,000 monks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *